Skills Beach Kids Turn Flagler Blue

Click on the image to read an article that references our Chair: Jan Sullivan

Jan Sullivan

Office phone number: 386-283-4883



It is through generous contributions that we can continue the important work we do. We appreciate any and all levels of support.
Click the button to contribute online.

What We Stand For

Quality Public Education

We believe a well-educated population increases opportunity locally and globally.  We support measures that ensure a quality public education from early childhood development to debt-free college options.  We support publicly funded schools that are accountable to the community.  We recognize that teachers play a vital role in educating and preparing today’s youth to be responsible contributing members of society in the future and support measures that compensate them appropriately.

Universal Healthcare

We believe healthcare is a human right that must be guaranteed to every American.  We aim to build a healthcare system that not only cares for the sick, but emphasizes health and wellness for all.  We understand that overcoming current health crises – from cancer to heart disease to opioid addiction and suicide – will require transformative societal shifts, including fundamental changes to healthcare, education, employment, housing opportunities, and adequate resources for our military veterans.

Social Security & Medicare Protections

We believe everyone has the right to economic security in retirement.  Social Security provides guaranteed income to millions of retirees, orphans, widow(er)s, disabled workers and their dependents.  Increases in revenue from the rising minimum wage and minor adjustments, such as eliminating income-level caps, will raise benefit levels for current recipients and reassure current contributors of its solvency for their retirement.  We also support Medicaid Expansion to close the healthcare gap and legislation to allow Medicare to negotiate prices for prescription drugs.

Support For A Living Wage

We believe in a livable wage, fair compensation for all, and in building an economy that capitalizes on human potential rather than human suffering. We believe increasing wealth inequality threatens the fabric of our society and democracy. We aim to build an economy that generates healthy communities and businesses, and in which all Americans have opportunities to thrive and prosper. An economy that increasingly rewards the few at the expense of the many is neither just nor healthy. We believe it is time to live up to the social mobility promised by the American Dream. This requires secure jobs that offer dignity, work-life balance, and fulfillment of both human needs and human potential; a minimum wage that keeps up with the cost of living; and equal pay for equal work. We believe all American workers should have access to paid sick leave, paid family leave, and the right to organize and collectively bargain.  We support investment in America’s public servants, including servicemen and women, teachers and first-responders, as well as in small businesses that make communities thrive.  We support investment in job creation and training to support our country’s conversion to renewable clean energy sources, as well as construction of more sustainable infrastructure. We also believe in protecting prosperity for those who cannot work—including the sick, vulnerable, disabled, elderly, and those experiencing trauma or transition.

Common Sense Gun Legislation

We believe a community based on civility and compassion deters gun violence more effectively than promoting an armed society.  We believe the 2nd amendment to the US Constitution protects our citizens right to defend themselves when all else fails.  Automatic, Semi-automatic, high capacity magazines and bump stocks are not defensive weaponry and fall outside the 2nd amendment provision.  We support the enforcement of universal background checks, required waiting periods and closing gun show loopholes.  These measures help ensure that weapons are not purchased with aggression and support the intention of defensive only action.

Building A Clean Energy Economy

We believe our economy will flourish with the development of renewable energy sources while simultaneously protecting our climate and environment for future generations.  We support creating centers of excellence for solar and renewable energy at Florida’s universities to provide innovation to drive down costs of alternative energy sources.  We believe investments in creating a renewable infrastructure and jobs program will put thousands of Floridians and millions of Americans to work.  Furthermore, we believe conversion to renewable energy not only creates jobs and protects our environment, it secures our nation against global conflict over increasingly scarce fossil fuels.

Justice & Equality For All

We believe in equality for all, and we realize our liberation is intrinsically interconnected.  None of us is free until all of us are free. Regardless of race, belief, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, age, wealth, or ability—we must be free to live, love, and pursue happiness without causing suffering to one another. All people must be afforded equal rights and opportunities, and the freedom to nurture their families, however they are formed, in safe and healthy environments free from fear, oppression, and persecution. We believe the time has come for an all-inclusive Equal Rights Amendment to the US Constitution.**

** Adapted from the Unity Principles of the Women’s March

Protect the Environment

We believe the environment is a shared resource that affects all Americans and people worldwide.   Careful stewardship of our land, air, and water is necessary to ensure the safety and well-being of humanity’s future.  We support a statewide ban on fracking, the creation of a mass transit system, smart planning and incentives to build “green buildings”, programs to reduce, reuse, and recycle waste, and local governments having a greater voice in development decisions.  We look for bold leadership in our community, industry, and government to protect our planet and our children from climate change and pollutants.

Latest Updates

Get Involved & Stay Informed

There are many ways you can get involved.  From voting, to volunteering, to running for office; we are here to help.

Sign up and get the latest Flagler County Democratic updates delivered to your email inbox!